// ]]>

Student Senate Members




Cameron Dixon, President                        Joseph Antosca, Vice President

Shelma Pierre, Treasurer                           Amen Tariq, Public Relations 

Nicole Carey, Secretary                              Wesley Todoroff, Parliamentarian


Scott Maciel, Student Trustee                    Samantha Lamoureux, Senator

John McWade, Senator                              Andre Morris, Senator    

Stevana Pierre, Senator                         Brianna McLaughlin, Senator

Michael Golchin, Senator                         Phillip DeMenezes, Senator

Sage Bartlett-Prchlik, Senator


Jacob Cunningham, Senator at Large     Alexandra Loparto, Senator at Large     

Why Should I Become a Senator?

Students involved in the Student Senate will have the opportunity to participate in various college activities, gain self-confidence, and develop leadership potential. Students will develop skills in:

  • Leadership
  • Communication
  • Diversity
  • Decision-making
  • Networking with peers

You will foster working relationships with college administration, faculty and other students.

You will be eligible to attend a number of regional and national conferences.

You will gain practical experiences that can be applied long after graduating from Cape Cod Community College.

If you are an elected officer, you have a vote in college meetings.

The people you will meet here at Cape Cod Community College, while on the Student Senate, along with the experiences you will have are what will make your college experience memorable.

How Do I Get Elected?

In order to be elected you must have a GPA of 2.0 or higher and be registered for at least 9 credits. You then would need to stop by the Office of Student Life to get the specific election dates. You will be given a nomination form, which you will need to get signed by 35 students if you are running for a senator and 50 signatures if you are running for an officer’s position. This needs to be returned to the Office of Student Life and your eligibility placed on the ballot. Your term of office will begin immediately following the elections and continue through the spring semester.

When Are Student Senate Elections?

Elections are held each semester. In the spring semester, senators and officers are elected. Fall elections are held in late September when vacant officer positions may be filled, as well as all senator positions. Students are elected for the full academic year, September through May.

What Would My Responsibilities Be?

Maintain a GPA of 2.0, and attend Student Senate meetings every Monday from 2:00–3:15pm while school is in session (with possible alternate meetings held Fridays from 2:00–3:15pm). Attendance is mandatory.

Student Senate Meetings – 2016–2017 Academic Year

  • September 19, 2016
  • September 26, 2016
  • October 3, 2016
  • October 24, 2016
  • October 31, 2016
  • November 7, 2016
  • November 21, 2016
  • November 28, 2016
  • December 5, 2016
  • January 30, 2017
  • February 13, 2017
  • February 27, 2017
  • March 20, 2017
  • March 27, 2017
  • April 10, 2017
  • April 24, 2017
  • May 8, 2017

Please note that on Mondays of the College Meeting, the senate normally does not meet.  If the senate chooses to meet during the college meeting, the student senate president will make that known at the meeting which precedes the Monday of the scheduled college meeting.

The Student Senate is the organization of the student body at Cape Cod Community College and is governed by a constitutionPDF document

The Purpose of the Student Senate:

  • Encourage and promote student participation in student activities
  • Advocate for active student participation in college affairs and governance
  • Responsible for disbursement of student activity monies to clubs and/or organizations
  • Active in scholarship fundraising and coordinating community service projects
  • Provide opportunities for cooperation and understanding among students, faculty and the administration
  • Protect student rights and represent student interests on college committees