Human Services

The Human Services Certificate ProgramPDF document embraces the Community Support Skill Standards (CSSS), which are the core skills defined by direct support professionals. The classes in the certificate program promote the CSSS and the required service learning helps the student reflect on how these skills are utilized in the field. The ethical guidelines students will adhere to are established by the National Organization of Human Service Education.

The following CSSS competency areas are guidelines for learning in the Human Services Certificate program:

Competency Area 1: Participant Empowerment

The competent community support human service practitioner (CSHSP) enhances the ability of the participant to lead a self-determining life by providing the support and information necessary to build self-esteem, and assertiveness; and to make decisions.

Competency Area 2: Communication

The CSHSP should be knowledgeable about the range of effective communication strategies and skills necessary to establish a collaborative relationship with the participant.

Competency Area 3: Assessment

The CSHSP should be knowledgeable about formal and informal assessment practices in order to respond to the needs, desires and interests of the participants.

Competency Area 4: Community and Service Networking

The CSHSP should be knowledgeable about the formal and informal supports available in his or her community and skilled in assisting the participant to identify and gain access to such supports.

Competency Area 5: Facilitation of Services

The CSHSP is knowledgeable about a range of participatory planning techniques and is skilled in implementing plans in a collaborative and expeditious manner.

Competency Area 6: Community Living Skills & Supports

The CSHSP has the ability to match specific supports and interventions to the unique needs of individual participants and recognizes the importance of friends, family and community relationships.

Competency Area 7: Education, Training & Self-Development

The CSHSP should be able to identify areas for self-improvement, pursue necessary educational/training resources, and share knowledge with others.

Competency Area 8: Advocacy

The CSHSP should be knowledgeable about the diverse challenges facing participants (e.g. human rights, legal, administrative and financial) and should be able to identify and use effective advocacy strategies to overcome such challenges.

Competency Area 9: Vocational, Educational & Career Support

The CSHSP should be knowledgeable about the career and education related concerns of the participant and should be able to mobilize the resources and support necessary to assist the participant to reach his or her goals.

Competency Area 10: Crisis Intervention

The CSHSP should be knowledgeable about crisis prevention, intervention and resolution techniques and should match such techniques to particular circumstances and individuals.

Competency Area 11: Organization Participation

The CSHSP is familiar with the mission and practices of the support organization and participates in the life of the organization.

Competency Area 12: Documentation

The CSHSP is aware of the requirements for documentation in his or her organization and is able to manage these requirements efficiently.

Source: Nadsp web site. (2008). Retrieved from:

See also: