Associate in Science Degrees

Cape Cod Community College offers varies Associate in Science degrees options. Students can complete this two year degree and either choose to go into full time employment or transfer to a Baccalaureate (4 year) institution. Within this degree program, students have the option of taking course work in specific concentrations in:

Students are strongly encouraged to meet with an advisor and/or transfer advisor to assist in selecting the best program that meets individual career and educational goals. For specific questions regarding the various concentrations, please contact one of the faculty members listed below.

Associate in Science Degree: Criminal Justice

The Association in Science degree with a concentration of criminal justice prepares students who intend to enter the fields of Law Enforcement, Corrections, or the Court System at all governmental levels. Also, careers in the private sector that include, but are not limited to private security, industrial security, and various external agencies that are associated with the criminal justice community. The completion of this degree will allow students to transfer foundational course work to a 4 year bachelor’s institution.

Faculty E-mail
Darren Stocker, Program Coordinator, Full time Faculty dstocker@capecod.edu
John Szucs, Full time Faculty jszucs@capecod.edu
Nancy Dempsey, Adjunct Faculty ndempsey@capecod.edu
Michael Donovan, Adjunct Faculty mdonovan@capecod.edu
Zara Killmurray, Adjunct Faculty zkilmurr@capecod.edu
Deborah Lochiatto, Adjunct Faculty dlochiatto@capecod.edu
Michael Miller, Adjunct Faculty mmiller@capecod.edu
Jeffrey Perry, Adjunct Faculty jperry@capecod.edu

Associate in Science Degree: Early Childhood Education Career Option & Transfer Compact

Upon completion of this program, the student who completes the requirement of the Early Childhood Education Career Option is qualified to work in a licensed child care facility. A graduate may also work in in summer camps and as assistants in public schools. The program meets the requirements of the Massachusetts Office of Child Care Services.

Students in the Early Childhood Education Program – Transfer Compact must graduate with a minimum 2.75 GPA and attain a passing score on the Communication and Literacy Skills (CLST) portion of the Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL) before their planned entrance to the bachelor institution to be accepted directly into an educational program. If student do not meet the criteria above, they may be admitted to the required academic (second) major on initial acceptance to the bachelor's institution.

Faculty E-mail
Debra Murphy, Program Coordinator, Full time Faculty dmurphy@capecod.edu
Kathy Blackwell, Adjunct Faculty kblackwell@capecod.edu
Mary Cronin, Adjunct Faculty mcronin@capecod.edu
Maggie Donahue, Adjunct Faculty mdonahue1@capecod.edu
Nancy Gross, Adjunct Faculty ngross@capecod.edu
Kathleen Healy, Adjunct Faculty khealy@capecod.edu
Dorothy McCarthy, Adjunct Faculty dmccarthy@capecod.edu
Nora Richards, Adjunct Faculty nrichards@capecod.edu

Associate in Science Degree: Fire Science Program

Students who plan a career in firefighting or fire safety technology should select the Associate in Science degree with a concentration in Fire Science, which is based on the premise that in-service personnel need to study technical improvement and that new recruits must be better qualified to enter fire and safety careers. The coursework in the Fire Science program may be helpful in succeeding in the entrance and promotional exams for the fire service. A sound foundation is provided for continuing into a four-year fire degree program.

Faculty E-mail
Robert Tucker, Program Coordinator, Adjunct Faculty rtucker@capecod.edu
John Burke, Adjunct Faculty jburke@capecod.edu
Peter Burke, Adjunct Faculty pburke@capecod.edu
Geof Deering, Adjunct Faculty gdeering@capecod.edu
Martin Greene, Adjunct Faculty mgreene01@capecod.edu
Dean Melanson, Adjunct Faculty dmelanson@capecod.edu
Robert Moran, Adjunct Faculty rmoran@capecod.edu
Michael Young, Adjunct Faculty myoung@capecod.edu