Associate in Arts Degrees

Cape Cod Community College offers a wide variety of Associate in Art degrees. This degree is designed for students planning to transfer to a Baccalaureate (4 year) institution. Students who complete this degree will satisfy the requirements of MassTransfer.

Within this degree program, students have the option of taking course work in specific concentrations. Students are strongly encouraged to meet with an advisor and/or transfer advisor to assist in selecting the best program that meets individual career and educational goals.

For specific questions regarding the various concentrations, please contact one of the faculty members listed below.

Associate in Arts Degree: History Concentration

The Associate in Arts Degree with a concentration in History gives a student a strong foundation for further studies in the areas of education, government, diplomacy, law, journalism, business, political science, research and teaching within the humanities or social sciences, as well as non-profit work. Students should note that entry-level job requirements in these areas always call for a minimum of a bachelor's degree.

Faculty E-mail
Claudine Barnes, Full time Faculty cbarnes@capecod.edu
Kate Martin, Full time Faculty kmartin@capecod.edu
Carol Bowers, Adjunct Faculty cbowers@capecod.edu
Steven Moynihan, Adjunct Faculty smoynihan@capecod.edu
Ralph Negron, Adjunct Faculty rnegron@capecod.edu
Thad Rice, Adjunct Faculty trice@capecod.edu
Marcel Ringawa, Adjunct Faculty mringawa@capecod.edu

Associate in Arts Degree: Human Services

The Associate in Arts Degree with a concentration in Human Services provides the basic curriculum for pursuing a major in the human services and related areas which include social work, counseling and other careers in public and private human service agencies.

Faculty E-mail
Robert Ericson, Program Coordinator, Full time Faculty rericson@capecod.edu
Krystin St.Onge, Full time Faculty kstonge@capecod.edu
Deborah Schwartz, Adjunct Faculty dschwartz@capecod.edu
Wanda Van Gilder, Adjunct Faculty wvangilder@capecod.edu

Associate in Arts Degree: Education Transfer & Elementary Education

The Associate in Arts Degree with a concentration in education prepares students for transfer to complete their bachelor's degree and become licensed to teach at the middle and high school level. Candidates for middle or high school licensure are required to minor in middle or high school education and major in the subject area they plan to teach.

The Elementary Education Transfer compact concentration sets the foundation for students to complete two years of foundational work to transfer to a 4 year institution to complete a bachelor's degree in Elementary Education. Elementary Education students must pass two additional MTEL tests: General Curriculum and Foundations of Reading before beginning their education coursework at the bachelor's level. After completing a bachelor's degree and passing the necessary state tests, students are eligible to teach in public and private schools in grades 1–6.

For more program information, please contact the department's Administrative Assistant:

Sarah Hanlon, Administrative Assistant
Location MM Wilkens Hall, Room 237
Phone 774.330.4361
E-mail shanlon@capecod.edu

Associate in Arts Degree: Philosophy Concentration

The Associate in Arts Degree with a philosophy concentration provides a solid base from which a student could continue in a bachelor's program in any of the social sciences or liberal arts. The Philosophy concentration is also an excellent long-range preparation for graduate work in any area of specialization, particularly in law or in medical school.

Faculty E-mail
Keli Gates, Adjunct Faculty kgates@capecod.edu
Daniel McCullough, Adjunct Faculty dmccullo@capecod.edu

Associate in Arts Degree: Political Science (Government) Concentration

This Associate in Arts Degree with a political science concentration is for students interested in any level of government, political involvement, the Foreign Service, the law profession, teaching, pubic administration, or liberal arts. Students should note that entry-level job requirements in these areas almost always call for a minimum of a bachelor's degree and knowledge of a foreign language is recommended. For more program information, please contact the department's Administrative Assistant:

Sarah Hanlon, Administrative Assistant
Location MM Wilkens Hall, Room 237
Phone 774.330.4361
E-mail shanlon@capecod.edu

Associate in Arts Degree: Psychology Concentration

The Associate in Arts degree with a psychology concentration provides the basic curriculum for those considering a career in psychology, counseling, social work, employee assistance work, human resource work or any profession requiring an in-depth understanding of human behavior.

Faculty E-mail
Sergio Marini, Program Coordinator, Full time Faculty smarini@capecod.edu
Robert Ericson, Full time Faculty rericson@capecod.edu
Krystin St.Onge, Full time Faculty kstonge@capecod.edu
Ifeoluwa Togun, Full time Faculty itogun@capecod.edu
Michele Wolfson, Full time Faculty mwolfson@capecod.edu
Judith Boykin-McCarthy, Adjunct Faculty jboykinmccarthy@capecod.edu
Sherianna Boyle, Adjunct Faculty sboyle@capecod.edu
Frances Dee Burlin, Adjunct Faculty fburlin@capecod.edu
Gina Hurley, Adjunct Faculty ghurley@capecod.edu
Mitchell Relin, Adjunct Faculty mrelin@capecod.edu
Candace Schulenburg, Adjunct Faculty cschulen@capecod.edu
Nancy Walker, Adjunct Faculty nwalker1@capecod.edu
Jay Warden, Adjunct Faculty jwarden@capecod.edu
Maura Weir, Adjunct Faculty mweir@capecod.edu

Associate in Arts Degree: Sociology/Anthropology Concentration

The Associate in Arts degree with a Sociology/Anthropology concentration prepares students to major in Sociology, Anthropology and related fields such as American Studies, Social Work, Criminology, Demography, Juvenile Delinquency, Women’s Studies, Urban Studies, and Legal Studies at bachelor’s degree institutions.

Faculty E-mail
Jacob Oni, Full time Faculty joni@capecod.edu
Mary Cordill, Adjunct Faculty mcordill@capecod.edu
Lee M. Hamilton, Adjunct Faculty lhamilton@capecod.edu
Clare Niven-Blowers, Adjunct Faculty cnivenbl@capecod.edu
Gary Seeley, Adjunct Faculty gseeley@capecod.edu
W. Brooks Smith, Adjunct Faculty bsmith@capecod.edu
Frank Spaulding, Adjunct Faculty fspaulding@capecod.edu
Elaine Weintraub, Adjunct Faculty eweintraub@capecod.edu