Main Content

Certificate

Law Enforcement

Developed in cooperation with the Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association, the Law Enforcement Certificate program prepares students for a career in local law enforcement.

The certificate combines specialized criminal justice and general education coursework to provide students with knowledge and skills needed to compete for entry into the Massachusetts law enforcement field. All of the credits in the certificate program can be applied to the Criminal Justice Associate in Science degree.

The Law Enforcement certificate was developed in cooperation with the Massachusetts Police Chiefs Association and has been ratified by their Training and Education Committee as an important step in their goal to have a better-educated and more professional workforce. Although the certificate is not yet a requirement in the hiring and training procedures, it is anticipated that it will substitute for a significant part of the Massachusetts Training council curriculum in the near future.

Apply Request Info
Requirements
CoursesCredits
ENL101   English Composition I
 
3
COM103   Human Communication
 
3
SOC106   Principles of Sociology
 
3
PSY101   General Psychology
 
3
CRJ100   Introduction to Criminal Justice
 
3
CRJ125   Contemporary Policing
 
3
CRJ103   Criminal Law
 
3
CRJ105   Criminology, Theory and Practice
 
3
CRJ130   Criminal Evidence
 
3
Total Credits 27

Completion of a program is based on full time enrollment. Many of our students attend part time and may not complete within the one year timeline.

Upon completion of the Law Enforcement Certificate, students are able to:

  • Identify, evaluate and utilize effective verbal, non-verbal and written communication.
  • Apply ethical principles in decision-making situations.
  • Demonstrate an understanding of diversity and multiculturalism.
  • Identify a problem and develop solutions.
  • Properly use basic criminal justice terms and concepts.
  • Identify, explain, and apply major theories of crime causation and individual criminal behavior.
  • Identify and explain the interrelationship between the major components of the criminal justice system.

This occupational profile is provided by O*NET.

Full Time FacultyE-mail
Darren Stocker, Program Coordinator dstocker@capecod.edu
John Szucs jszucs@capecod.edu
Adjunct FacultyE-mail
Nancy Dempsey ndempsey@capecod.edu
Michael Donovan mdonovan@capecod.edu
Zara Killmurray zkilmurr@capecod.edu
Deborah Lochiatto, dlochiatto@capecod.edu
Michael Miller, mmiller@capecod.edu
Jeffrey Perry jperry@capecod.edu