Main Content

Certificate

Homeland Security Certificate

The certificate is designed to provide students an introduction to the growing field of homeland security. It is designed for people working in the areas of public safety, security management and law enforcement. Criminal justice students interested in enhancing their future career prospects may also benefit from this program by broadening their studies to encompass security within private industry.

Apply Request Info
Requirements
CoursesCredits
HSC101   Introduction to Homeland Security
 
3
HSC102   Maritime Security
 
3
HSC103   Management of Incidents
 
3
BIT104   Cybercrime
 
3
CRJ135   Terrorism
 
3
Total Credits 15

Upon successful completion of the Homeland Security Certificate, students are able to:

  • Identify effective interpersonal communication, critical thinking, and decision-making skills.
  • Describe ethical principles in decision-making situations.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of diverse areas, cultures and experiences and the ability to examine their own attitudes and assumptions in order to engage others with civility and empathy.
  • Recognize how to access and disseminate information through multiple agencies in order to forecast the risks, types and orders of magnitude of terrorist threats most likely to confront the nation/state.
  • Describe the interdisciplinary nature of homeland security functions and be able to assess and integrate various functional areas.
Full Time FacultyE-mail
Darren Stocker, Program Coordinator dstocker@capecod.edu
John Szucs jszucs@capecod.edu
Adjunct FacultyE-mail
Nancy Dempsey ndempsey@capecod.edu
Michael Donovan mdonovan@capecod.edu
Zara Killmurray zkilmurr@capecod.edu
Deborah Lochiatto, dlochiatto@capecod.edu
Michael Miller, mmiller@capecod.edu
Jeffrey Perry jperry@capecod.edu