Main Content

Associate in Science

Fire Science Program – Fire Science Option

This program offers the technical and educational requirements to assist in the development of knowledge required to succeed in the fire protection field. This program is centered on municipal fire protection. Aspects of fire protection in the private sector are also presented.

Students who are matriculated and place into developmental math and/or English are required to begin the course sequence in the first semester. Please see an advisor with questions.

Apply Request Info
Requirements
First SemesterCredits
ENL101 English Composition I 3
CHM106
CHM109
  Survey of Chemistry (or)
Chemistry for the Health Sciences I
4
FSC150   Principles of Emergency Services 3
FSC151   Fire Prevention 3
    Fire Science Elective 3
Second SemesterCredits
    Mathematics/Quantitative Reasoning (or)
Natural or Physical Science
3 (or) 4
4
FSC152   Fire Protection Systems 3
ENL102
COM103
  English Composition II (or)
Human Communication
3
    Fire Science Elective 3
    Fire Science Elective 3
Third SemesterCredits
FSC153   Building Construction for Fire Protection 3
FSC155   Fire Behavior and Combustion 3
PSY101
SOC106
  General Psychology (or)
Principles of Sociology
3
    Fire Science Elective 3
    Elective 3
Fourth SemesterCredits
FSC154   Principles of Fire & Emergency Services Safety and Survival 3
    Behavioral & Social Sciences 3
    Fire Science Elective 3
    Fire Science Elective 3
    Elective 3
Total Credits 61/62

Capitol letter M to designate a milestone course Designates a Milestone course. A milestone course must be completed in the semester indicated to ensure that you remain on track to continue on in your program and graduate on time.

EMS101 Emergency Medical Technician: EMT
FSC103 Firefighting Tactics & Strategy
FSC105 Hazardous Materials
FSC107 Hydraulics for the Fire Service
FSC108 Fire Investigation and Evidence
FSC109 Fire Department Management and Planning
FSC110 Fire Codes and Ordinances
FSC114 Fire Company Management
FSC115 Introduction to Technical Rescue
FSC120 Introduction to Incident Management
FSC130 Shipboard Firefighting
FSC200 Special Topics in Fire Science

Upon completion of the Fire Science program, students are able to:

  • Apply principles and current practices of fire protection techniques.
  • Use effective communication skills to build relationships with co-workers, supervisors, and members of the community.
  • Perform the role of a fire protection officer using established standards, guidelines, and regulations.
  • Observe, analyze, assess, and implement an effective operation plan in fire protection and emergency medical service situations.
  • Apply principles and practices of specialized technical operations teams.
  • Integrate leadership principles to perform roles of increasing responsibility within fire protection and emergency medical service organizations.

Students who plan a career in firefighting or fire safety technology should select this program which is based on the premise that in-service personnel need to study technical improvement and that new recruits must be better qualified to enter fire and safety careers. The coursework in the Fire Science program may be helpful in succeeding in the entrance and promotional exams for the fire service. A sound foundation is provided for continuing into a four-year fire degree program.

Applicants for the Fire Science Program must be able to meet the physical demands and satisfy the behavioral capabilities as outlined in the Program’s Technical Standards.

This occupational profile is provided by O*NET.

See also: What can I do with this major?

Adjunct FacultyE-mail
Robert Tucker, Program Coordinator rtucker@capecod.edu
John Burke jburke@capecod.edu
Peter Burke pburke@capecod.edu
Geof Deering gdeering@capecod.edu
Martin Greene mgreene01@capecod.edu
Dean Melanson dmelanson@capecod.edu
Robert Moran rmoran@capecod.edu
Michael Young myoung@capecod.edu