Main Content

Associate in Science

Criminal Justice Program

Any student whose career plans include probation, corrections, or law enforcement requires not only a broad understanding of the criminal justice system, but also a fundamental knowledge of the social and behavioral sciences.

Students who are matriculated and place into developmental math and/or English are required to begin the course sequence in the first semester. Please see an advisor with questions.

As the only public institution offering a Criminal Justice degree on Cape Cod, we have created a student-centered learning community that prepares students for a variety of professional opportunities in the various criminal justice careers such as probation, corrections, law enforcement and employment in the court system. Through classroom instruction and experiential learning we provide a broad understanding of the criminal justice system and a fundamental knowledge of the social and behavioral sciences, particularly as they apply to the field of criminal justice.

Apply Request Info
Requirements
First SemesterCredits
CRJ100 Introduction to Criminal Justice 3
CRJ105 Criminology, Theory & Practice 3
CRJ116 Introduction to Corrections 3
ENL101 English Composition I 3
  Mathematics/Quantitative Reasoning (or)
Natural or Physical Science
3 (or) 4
4
Second SemesterCredits
CRJ103 Criminal Law 3
CRJ125 Contemporary Policing 3
    Criminal Justice Elective 3
BIO105   Survey of Human Anatomy & Physiology 4
ENL102
COM103
  English Composition II (or)
Human Communication
3
Third SemesterCredits
CRJ206 Principles of Investigation I 3
CRJ210 Ethical Issues in Criminal Justice 3
    Criminal Justice Elective 3
HIS104   U.S. History since 1865 3
PSY101    General Psychology 3
Fourth SemesterCredits
CRJ207   Principles of Investigation II 3
CRJ240   Selected Issues in Criminal Justice 3
CRJ261   Criminal Justice Cooperative Work Experience* 3
SOC106   Principles of Sociology 3
    Elective 3
Total Credits 61–62

Capitol letter M to designate a milestone course Designates a Milestone course. A milestone course must be completed in the semester indicated to ensure that you remain on track to continue on in your program and graduate on time.

*CRJ261 Criminal Justice Coopertive Work Experience can be completed in the fall, spring, or summer semesters. Please refer to the policy statement of Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) and Sex Offender Registry Information (SORI) checks.

Criminal Justice Electives
CRJ130 Criminal Evidence
CRJ135 Terrorism
CRJ220 Crisis Intervention for Criminal Justice Professionals
CRJ221 Juvenile Justice

Upon completion of the Criminal Justice program, students are able to:

  • Read, write, discuss, and think critically about topics and ideas in criminal justice.
  • Analyze ethical issues in criminal justice
  • Appy ethical principles to the performance of roles and responsibilities in criminal justice careers.
  • Synthesize information from the diversity literature in sociology, psychology, history, and criminal justice to determine sensitive and effective interactions with people encountered in criminal justice settings.
  • Assume positions in a variety of criminal justice careers.
  • Transfer to professional baccalaureate programs.

The Criminal Justice program prepares students who intend to enter the fields of Law Enforcement, Corrections, or the Court System at all governmental levels. Also, careers in the private sector that include, but are not limited to private security, industrial security, and various external agencies that are associated with the criminal justice community.

This occupational profile is provided by O*NET.

See also: What can I do with this major?

Full Time FacultyE-mail
Darren Stocker, Program Coordinator dstocker@capecod.edu
John Szucs jszucs@capecod.edu
Adjunct FacultyE-mail
Nancy Dempsey ndempsey@capecod.edu
Michael Donovan mdonovan@capecod.edu
Zara Killmurray zkilmurr@capecod.edu
Deborah Lochiatto dlochiatto@capecod.edu
Michael Miller mmiller@capecod.edu
Jeffrey Perry jperry@capecod.edu