Main Content

Associate in Arts

Psychology Concentration

A student interested in studying psychology and/or transferring into a four-year undergraduate program in the liberal arts can take the first two years of study at Cape Cod Community College.

Students who are matriculated and place into developmental math and/or English are required to begin the course sequence in the first semester. Please see an advisor with questions.

Apply Request Info
Requirements
First SemesterCredits
ENL101 English Composition I 3
  Mathematics/Quantitative Reasoning (MAT150 suggested) 3
    Humanities & Fine Arts (COM103 suggested) 3
PSY101 General Psychology 3
    Elective 3
Second SemesterCredits
ENL102   English Composition II 3
    Natural or Physical Science (BIO109 or BIO151) 4
    Humanities & Fine Arts 3
PSY214   Research Methods in Psychology 3
    Elective 3
Third SemesterCredits
    Natural or Physical Science 3 (or) 4
SOC106   Principles of Sociology 3
    Concentration Elective 3
    Concentration Elective 3
    Elective 3
Fourth SemesterCredits
    Humanities & Fine Arts 3
    General Education Elective (HIS) 3
    Concentration Elective 3
    Concentration Elective 3
    Elective (if needed) 2–3
Total Credits 60–61

Capitol letter M to designate a milestone course Designates a Milestone course. A milestone course must be completed in the semester indicated to ensure that you remain on track to continue on in your program and graduate on time.

Note: The Associate in Arts degree does not indicate a specialized degree in a concentration. Students who complete this concentration will satisfy the requirements of MassTransfer. For additional information pertaining to degree requirements, please refer to Degree Requirements.

PSY201 Child Psychology
PSY202 Adolescent Psychology
PSY207 Abnormal Psychology
PSY225 Social Psychology
PSY235 Cognitive Psychology

This course of study provides basic curriculum for those considering a career in psychology, counseling, social work, employee assistance work, human resource work or any profession requiring an in-depth understanding of human behavior.

This occupational profile is provided by O*NET.

See also: What can I do with this major?

Full Time FacultyE-mail
Sergio Marini, Program Coordinator smarini@capecod.edu
Robert Ericson rericson@capecod.edu
Krystin St.Onge kstonge@capecod.edu
Ifeoluwa Togun itogun@capecod.edu
Michele Wolfson mwolfson@capecod.edu
Adjunct FacultyE-mail
Judith Boykin-McCarthy jboykinmccarthy@capecod.edu
Sherianna Boyle sboyle@capecod.edu
Frances Dee Burlin fburlin@capecod.edu
Gina Hurley ghurley@capecod.edu
Mitchell Relin mrelin@capecod.edu
Candace Schulenburg cschulen@capecod.edu
Nancy Walker nwalker1@capecod.edu
Jay Warden jwarden@capecod.edu
Maura Weir mweir@capecod.edu