Main Content

Associate in Arts

Graphic Design Concentration

The Graphic Design concentration provides foundation courses needed for transfer. This concentration is a MassTransfer eligible concentration, providing transfer opportunities within the Massachusetts Public Higher Education system. MassTransfer provides additional information on transfer opportunities. Students may also choose to transfer to other colleges or universities to continue their art studies.

Students who are matriculated and place into developmental math and/or English are required to begin the course sequence in the first semester. Please see an advisor with questions.

Apply Request Info
Requirements
First SemesterCredits
ENL101 English Composition I 3
ART125   History of Art: Stone Age to Gothic 3
ART100 Drawing I 3
ART101 Design I 3
ART171 Computer Graphics I (Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator & InDesign) 3
Second SemesterCredits
ENL102   English Composition II 3
ART200 Drawing II 3
ART207   Graphic Design I 3
ART136    Three-Dimensional Design 3
ART134    History of Art: Renaissance to Modern 3
ART219   Portfolio Preparation 1
Third SemesterCredits
    Natural or Physical Science 4
    Behavioral & Social Science 3
ART218 Typography 3
    Mathematics/Quantitative Reasoning 3 (or) 4
ART137   History of Graphic Design 3
Fourth SemesterCredits
    Behavioral & Social Science 3
ART231    Computer Graphics II (Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator & InDesign) 3
ART208  Graphic Design II 3
    Natural or Physical Science 3 (or) 4
    Behavioral & Social Science 3
Total Credits 62–64

Capitol letter M to designate a milestone course Designates a Milestone course. A milestone course must be completed in the semester indicated to ensure that you remain on track to continue on in your program and graduate on time.

Note: The Associate in Arts degree does not indicate a specialized degree in a concentration. Students who complete this concentration will satisfy the requirements of MassTransfer. For additional information pertaining to degree requirements, please refer to Degree Requirements.

Plan your schedule.
Review which classes will run during upcoming semesters.

Related Information:

The Graphic Design concentration prepares students to continue their studies and complete a bachelor's degree. There are some entry-level positions in print shops, advertising agencies, publication or packaging firms that may require some basic layout and pre-press skills. Employment as a designer is rare with an Associate's degree. Students are encouraged to continue their studies.

This occupational profile is provided by O*NET.

See also: What can I do with this major?

Full Time Faculty

Scott Anderson
Phone 774.330.4335
Office Tilden Arts 211
E-mail sanderson01@capecod.edu
Web Scott Anderson Art
Sarah Ringler
Phone 774.330.4355
Office Tilden Arts G16
E-mail sringler@capecod.edu
Web Sara David Ringler Art


Adjunct Faculty
Phone:774.330.4410 | Office: Tilden Arts 217

Brian Bierig
E-mail bbierig@capecod.edu
Web Brian Bierig Graphic Design
Marie Canavas
E-mail mcanaves@capecod.edu
Web Marie Canaves Art
Alison Caron
E-mail acaron@capecod.edu
Web Alison Caron Designs
Brooke Mullins Doherty
E-mail jdoherty01@capecod.edu
Web Brooke Mullins Doherty Art
Nathalie Ferrier
E-mail nferrier@capecod.edu
Anne Flash
E-mail aflash@capecod.edu
Web Anne Flash Art
Betty Carroll Fuller
E-mail bfuller@capecod.edu
Web Betty Carroll Fuller Art
Elizabeth Hathon
E-mail ehathon@capecod.edu
Web Elizabeth Hathon Photography
Doug Ritter
E-mail dritter@capecod.edu
Vicky Tomayko
E-mail vtomayko@capecod.edu
Web Vicky Tomayko Art