Main Content

Associate in Arts

English Concentration

The English concentration is for students who plan to transfer as a junior to a bachelor's degree program.

Students who are matriculated and place into developmental math and/or English are required to begin the course sequence in the first semester. Please see an advisor with questions.

 

Apply Request Info
Requirements
First SemesterCredits
ENL101 English Composition I 3
COM103   Human Communication 3
  Mathematics/Quantitative Reasoning 3 (or) 4
    Behavioral & Social Sciences 3
    Humanities & Fine Arts 3
Second SemesterCredits
ENL102 English Composition II 3
    Natural or Physical Science 3 (or) 4
    Concentration Elective 3
    General Education Elective 3
    Elective 3
Third SemesterCredits
  American, British or World Literature 3
  American, British or World Literature 3
    Natural or Physical Science 4
    Behavioral & Social Sciences 3
    Concentration Elective 3
Fourth SemesterCredits
  American, British or World Literature 3
    Behavioral & Social Science 3
    Concentration Elective 3
    Concentration Elective 3
    Elective (if needed) 2
Total Credits 60–62

Capitol letter M to designate a milestone course Designates a Milestone course. A milestone course must be completed in the semester indicated to ensure that you remain on track to continue on in your program and graduate on time.

Note: The Associate in Arts degree does not indicate a specialized degree in a concentration. Students who complete this concentration will satisfy the requirements of MassTransfer. For additional information pertaining to degree requirements, please refer to Degree Requirements.

English majors must complete at least one semester each of American Literature, British Literature and World Literature to be accepted as juniors through MassTransfer.

ENL201 World Literature I: Early World Literature
ENL202 World Literature II: Literature from the Enlightenment to the Present
ENL203 British Literature I: Medieval Period through the Enlightenment
ENL204 British Literature II: From the Romantic Age to the Present
ENL205 American Literature to 1890: The Emergence of American Literature
ENL206 American Literature since 1890: Defining the American Identity

Any college-credit bearing course with ENL prefix except ENL101, ENL102, ENL108.

Excellent employment opportunities abound for students whose critical thinking and writing skills enable them to communicate effectively and clearly, participate in decision making, and learn autonomously. Career fields include education, law, publishing, advertising, public relations, personnel management, administration, writing, and library services.

This occupational profile is provided by O*NET.

See also: What can I do with this major?

Full Time Faculty

Interim Dean Bruce Riley
Office Tilden 201/Wilkens North 237
E-mail briley@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4456
774.330.4535
Professor Patricia Allen
Office Wilkens North 205
E-mail pallen@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4681
Professor Rachael Bancroft
Office Wilkens North 236
E-mail rbancroft@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4553
Professor Bill Berry
Office Wilkens North 240
E-mail wberry@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4853
Professor Kerry Drohan
Office Wilkens North 235
E-mail kdrohan@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4410
Professor John French
Office Wilkens North 202
E-mail jfrench@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4555
Professor Rebecca Griffin
Office Wilkens North 237
E-mail rgriffin@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4554
Professor Thomas Schaefer
Office Wilkens North 203
E-mail tschaefer@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4735

Adjunct Faculty

Professor George Albert
Office Wilkens North 207
E-mail galbert@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4556
Professor Denise Benjamin
Office Wilkens North 239
E-mail dbenjamin@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Victoria Boisvert
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail vboisvert@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Daniel Burt
Office Wilkens North 207
E-mail dburt@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Mary Crawley
Office Wilkens North 207
E-mail mcrawley@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Caryl Delaney
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail cdelaney@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Louise DeSantis-Deutsch
Office Tilden Arts 213
E-mail ldeutsch@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4835
Professor Tom Driscoll
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail tdriscoll@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4220
Professor Christine Esperson
Office Wilkens North 239
E-mail cesperson@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Michael Fournier
Office Wilkens North 207
E-mail mfournier@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Rosario Gomez-Wixon
Office Wilkens North 207
E-mail rgomezwixon@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4629
Professor Lee Haselton
Office Wilkens North 239
E-mail lhaselton@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Michael Helfen
Office Wilkens North 207
E-mail mhelfen@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Christine Jacques
Office Wilkens North 239
E-mail cjacques@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4778
Professor Egila Lex
Office Wilkens North 239
E-mail elex@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4267
Professor Polly Lincoln
Office Wilkens North 238
E-mail plincoln@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Henry McClintock
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail hmcclintock@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Dick Norwood
Office Wilkens North 237
E-mail dnorwood@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Robin Smith-Johnson
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail rsmithjohnson@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4827
Professor Thomas Trainor
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail ttrainor@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4453
Professor Kristen Traywick
Office Wilkens North 238
E-mail ktraywick@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4772
Professor Laurie Veninger
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail lveninger@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4772
Professor Virginia Wallin
Office Wilkens North 206
E-mail vwallin@capecod.edu
Phone 774.330.4724

Contact Language & Literature Department

Department of Language & Literature
Location Wilkens North 204
Hours Monday–Friday, 7:30am–3:30pm
Phone 774.330.4453